Yoga Upanishads

What are Upanishads?

Vedas are the ancient religious Sanskrit verses composed well before 1500 BCE. They are the oldest scriptures of Hinduism and are orally passed on from generation to generation from the time immemorial. There are four groups of Vedas: Rig Veda, Sama Veda, Yajur Veda and Atharva Veda. Each Veda has four sections under three groups. They are Samhita. Brahmana, Aranyaka and Upanishads. They are grouped under Upasana Kanda, Karma Kanda and Jnana Kanda. Upasana is worship. Samhita contains the mantra portion and comes under Upasana Kanda. Karma is ceremonies and rites. Brahmana contains religious rites and grouped under Karma Kanda. Jnana means knowledge and wisdom. Aranyaka contains secret religious doctrines passed on only to the initiated. It contains both of rites and wisdom and usually grouped under Jnana Kanda. Upanishads contain pure knowledge and wisdom hence grouped under Jnana Kanda. Upanishads are the concluding part of Vedas and called as Vedanta. The literal meaning of Upanishads is "to sit near" (the Guru to gain the knowledge and wisdom).

Muktika Upanishad gives a list of 108 Upanishads. Of them, 20 Upanishads deals with yoga as the major subject. These twenty Upanishads are called Yoga Upanishads.

  1. Hamsa Upanishad

  2. Amirta Bindu Upanishad

  3. Amirta Nada Upanishad

  4. Ksurika Upanishad

  5. Tejo Bindu Upanishad

  6. Nada Bindu Upanishad

  7. Dhyana Bindu Upanishad

  8. Brahma Vidya Upanishad

  9. Yoga Tattva Upanishad

  10. Trisikhi Brahmana Upanishad

  11. Yoga Chudamani Upanishad

  12. Mandala Brahmana Upanishad

  13. Advayataraka Upanishad

  14. Sandilya Upanishad

  15. Yoga Sikha Upanishad

  16. Pashupada Brahma Upanishad

  17. Yoga Kundalini Upanishad

  18. Darshana Upanishad

  19. Maha Vakya Upanishad

  20. Varaha Upanishad

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

Follow us

​© 2018 by Yoga Pradipika

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now